Water Footprint

In Carlisle I use less water than average. I use 77 gallons/day within my home and none outside because I do not have a backyard. I use 910 gallons/day for my diet. I eat a lot of meat which accounts for most of this number. This is because 338 gallons are used to produce one serving of beef and 88 gallons are used to produce a serving of poultry. I also drink at least 4 glasses of milk a day and it takes 880 gallons of water to produce one gallon of milk. I do not drive much around Carlisle although I take about 4 trips home a year which accounts for the 524 gallons used on transportation. I do not buy a lot of stuff so my total is only 120 gallons/day. My water footprint is 794 m3 per year in Carlisle which is less than the global average of 1243 and higher than the domestic average of 102. The highest category within the food component of my water footprint is meat.

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 9.29.49 PM.png

On the day that I logged my water use I used 51 gallons in my home. I used 560 gallons for my diet. I also used 519 gallons for transportation and energy and 65 gallons for my stuff.

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 11.00.53 PM.png

Screen Shot 2016-10-10 at 9.31.41 PM.png

The water footprint per capita is 5,800 liters/day in Syria, 4,500 liters/day in Turkey, 5,100 liters/day in Iran, and there is no data available for the per capita footprint in Iraq.

My water footprint is 794 m3 per year which is equal to 574 US gallons/day. This is equal to 2,173 liters/day. My water footprint is smaller than the per capita footprint in my sub-region of specialization. It is also smaller than the average per capita footprint in the United States which is 7,800 liters/day.

(1 cubic meter/year = 0.7233 US gallons/day, one US gallon = 3.78541 liters)

The external percentage of the fresh water footprint in the United States is 20% and the total water footprint is 820,000 million m3/year. The external percentage in Syria is 16% and the total footprint is 36,000 million m3/year. In Iran it is 18% with a total footprint of 130,000 million m3/year. In Turkey it is 21% with a total footprint of 110,000 million m3/year.

The external percentages of the US and the countries in my sub-region are similar but the total water footprint in the United States is significantly higher than the countries in the Tigris/Euphretes region. This data could indicate that other strategies are being used to navigate the water scarcity issue within the region. One strategy that could explain these percentages is the trade of oil and virtual water. The Middle East has an abundance of this natural resource and there is a high international demand for it. Instead of importing large amounts of water, this region imports goods that use high quantities of water in their production. This decreases the need of water within production and thus decreases the external percentage of the fresh water footprint. This practice also creates international relations with foreign regions through trade.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

